2019 Broyles Award: Assistant Coach of the Year


The Broyles Award was established in 1996 by Frank Broyles and David Bazzel to recognize some of the most dedicated, hardest-working people in America – college football assistant coaches.

The Broyles Award quickly became synonymous with excellence in collegiate coaching, as many finalists and recipients of the Broyles Award have gone on to become head coaches at collegiate and professional levels.



Joe Brady, Passing-Game Coordinator, LSU

LSU passing-game coordinator Joe Brady was named as the winner of the 2019 Broyles Award, given annually to the nation’s top assistant coach.  Brady, considered the overwhelming favorite coming into the announcement, Dave Aranda in 2011 as the only Tiger assistants to win claim the honor.

In the midst of his first season in Baton Rouge, Brady has helped the Tigers evolve into on the most explosive offenses in college football.  Entering the postseason, LSU is third in the country in scoring (47.8 points per game), second in passing offense (386.8 yards per game), third in yards per play (7.79) and first in total offense (554.4 ypg).


The 2019 Broyles Award finalists included:

  • Jeff Hafley, Ohio State co-defensive coordinator/secondary coach
  • Dan Lanning, Georgia defensive coordinator
  • Morgan Scalley, Utah defensive coordinator/safeties coach
  • Phil Snow, Baylor defensive coordinator
  • Joe Brady – LSU passing-game coordinator


2018 Broyles Award winner: Mike Locksley, OC, Alabama


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s