2019 Eddie Robinson Award


Not to be confused with the “Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award,” the Eddie Robinson Award is given to the FCS Coach of the Year.

The legendary Eddie Robinson finished his coaching career with 408 victories.

The 32-year-old award, named for the legendary Grambling State coach, honors the national coach of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision.



Troy Taylor, HEAD COACH, Sacramento State

Sacramento State’s head coach Troy Taylor working with the Hornets during practice Thursday, August 29, 2019 before the upcoming season opener against Southern Oregon.

Sacramento State’s first-year head coach who led the program to nine regular-season wins, a share of the Big Sky Conference title, and FCS playoff qualification—all firsts for the program. Sacramento State ended the regular season ranked No. 3 under the 2019 Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award recipient.

“I’m honored to be chosen as the Eddie Robinson Award winner,” Taylor said. “The success we had this season at Sacramento State is due to the contribution of many administrators, support staff, coaches and, of course, our incredibly committed and resilient players. I accept this award on behalf of all those involved that have made this season a success.”

The 51-year-old Taylor, a former star quarterback at Cal, is known as an innovative play caller. The offensive coordinator at Utah when he was hired by Sacramento State last December, he coached previously in the Big Sky as an Eastern Washington assistant in 2016.

Sacramento State went 9-4, with only two losses to FCS teams, and its regular season was highlighted by three straight wins over nationally ranked opponents – traditional Big Sky powers Eastern Washington, Montana State and Montana. Fifteen Hornets earned All-Big Sky honors, led by quarterback Kevin Thomson, the conference’s offensive player of the year.


The 2019 Eddie Robinson Award top finalists included:

  • Troy Taylor, Sacramento State
  • Matt Entz, North Dakota State
  • Mark Hudspeth, Austin Peay
  • Kevin Callahan, Monmouth
  • Ryan McCarthy, Central Connecticut State


2018 Eddie Robinson Award winner: Dan Hawkins, HC, UC-Davis


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s