2019 Chuck Bednarik Award: Defensive Player of the Year


The College Defensive Player of the Year Award is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, College and Pro Football Hall of Famer.


Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country.



Chase Young, DE, Ohio State Buckeyes

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young won his fourth major award in the last seven days, claiming the 2019 Chuck Bednarik Award from the Maxwell Football Club as the nation’s top defensive player. Young is Ohio State’s first-ever Bednarik Award winner and the seventh from a Big Ten school.

Along with the Bednarik Award, Young has taken home the Bronko Nagurski Trophy from the Charlotte Touchdown Club as the nation’s top defensive player and was the Ted Hendricks Award winner as the best defensive end. He also became the first Ohio State defensive player to win the Chicago Tribune Silver Football as the best player in the Big Ten Conference.

Young, from Upper Marlboro, Md., and DeMatha Catholic High School, has had one of the most dominant defensive seasons in the history of college football. He leads the nation with 16.5 sacks and 1.50 sacks per game for the 13-0 Big Ten champion Buckeyes. His 21.0 tackles-for-loss ranks fourth and 1.91 tackles-for-loss in tops nationally.


The 2019 Chuck Bednarik Award finalists included:

  • Ohio State – DE Chase Young
  • Clemson – LB Isaiah Simmons
  • Auburn – DT Derrick Brown


2018 Bednarik Award winner: Josh Allen, OLB, Kentucky


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s