2019 Maxwell Award: College Player of the Year


Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. This award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist.


Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country



Joe Burrow, QB, Louisiana State Tigers

Burrow has thrown for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns to lead LSU to a 13-0 season. Both are LSU and SEC single-season records. He has completed 78 percent of his passes. The LSU offense averages just under 48 points per game.

Burrow is the first player in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 touchdowns in a single season. Last year’s Maxwell Award winner Tua Tagovailoa missed that mark by 34 yards last year.

No. 1 LSU faces off with No. 4 Oklahoma in the national semifinal game hosted by the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28.


The 2019 Maxwell Award finalists included:

  • LSU – QB Joe Burrow, senior
  • Oklahoma – QB Jalen Hurts, senior
  • Ohio State – DE Chase Young, senior


2018 Maxwell Award winner: Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Alabama


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s