2019 Walter Payton Award: FCS Offensive Player of the Year


The STATS FCS Walter Payton Award recognizes the Offensive Player of the Year in the Football Championship Subdivision.


A national panel of 153 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Walter Payton Award following the regular season. Voters selected a Top 5 on their ballot.



Trey Lance, QB, North Dakota State University

Trey Lance took home the Walter Payton Award on Friday becoming the first freshman to win the award. Lance easily won the award finishing with 353 points and 42 first-place votes.

Lance was not at the trophy ceremony. Instead he stayed with his teammates in Frisco, Texas, as they prepare to face James Madison in the FCS National Championship game later today.

Lance has had a outstanding season on and off the field. On Wednesday, Lance was named Offensive Player of the Year in the Football Championship Subdivision, the FCS Athletic Directors Association. He has also been awarded the Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player, Newcomer and Freshman of the Year honors. 

While leading his team to a 15-0 record, Lance has thrown for 28 touchdowns and no interceptions on the year.


The 2019 Walter Payton Award finalists included:

  • Case Cookus, junior QB, Northern Arizona
  • Trey Lance, redshirt freshman QB, North Dakota State
  • Pete Guerriero , junior RB, Monmouth
  • Kevin Thomson, junior QB, Sacramento State


2018 Walter Payton Award winner: Devlin Hodges


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s