2019 Davey O’Brien Award: College Football’s Most Outstanding Quarterback


The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

Davey O’Brien was named to the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955 and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in 1956.

Originally, the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy was presented annually to the most outstanding player in the Southwestern states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Four years later, the award was expanded nationally in scope and limited to quarterback, the primary position of our namesake. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.




Burrow has been nothing but spectacular this year. Heading into the CFP National Championship game vs Clemson, Burrow leads the nation with 55 touchdown passes – against only six interceptions.

On the year, Burrow has completed 371 of 478 passes for 5,208 yards, only second in the country to Washington State’s Anthony Gordon. Burrow has also rushed for 311 yards and four scores. His completion percentage of (.779) is on pace to break the all-time NCAA record, as is his passing efficiency mark of 204.60.

Burrow leads the nation in points responsible for with 356. With the arrival of new Offensive Passing Coordinator, Burrow is second in the FBS with 26.5 completions per game.

He will lead his Tigers against Trevor Lawrence and the Clemson Tigers on Monday, Jan. 13, in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The winner of that game will be the only FBS team to go undefeated in the 2019 season.


The 2019 Davey O’Brien Award finalists included:

  • LSU – Joe Burrow, senior
  • Oklahoma – Jalen Hurts, senior
  • Ohio State – Justin Fields, sophomore


2018 Davey O’Brien winner: Kyler Murray


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s