2019 Bronko Nagurski Award: FWAA’s College Football’s Defensive Player of the Year


The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has annually chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993.

In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of a legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota, Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. He is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.




AP Photo|Nell Redmond

Ohio State junior defensive end Chase Young has been selected as the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner as the nation’s top defensive player as award by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

While only appearing in 12 games, Young led the nation in sacks (16.5). His sacks accounted for negative 117 yards for opponents, another statistic he led the nation in.

Young tied for fifth in the nation with 21.0 tackles-for-loss. He had 46 total tackles, three passes defended, and seven forced fumbles on the season. Along with the Nagurski, Young took home the Chuck Bednarik Award this season, and he finished fourth in the Heisman voting.


The 2019 Bronko Nagurski Award finalists included:

  • Derrick Brown, DT, Auburn
  • J.R. Reed, S, Georgia
  • Isaiah Simmon, LB, Clemson
  • Antoine Winfield, Jr., DB, Minnesota
  • Chase Young, DE, Ohio State


The 2018 Bronko Nagurski Award winner: Josh Allen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s