2019 Buck Buchanan Award: FCS Defensive Player of the Year


The Buck Buchanan Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding defensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision of college football, and was first given in 1995.

In 1962, Buck Buchanan was an NAIA All-American DL at Grambling.

Who Votes?

Following the regular season, a national panel of 153 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Buck Buchanan Award, named for the Pro and College Football Hall-of-Famer.




Montana linebacker Dante Olson took home the coveted Buck Buchanan award on Friday night. Olson, who finished third in last year’s voting, won easily, receiving 36 first-place votes and 363 points.

After sitting the bench his first two season, the junior from Medford, Oregon, burst on the scene in 2018. Since then he has won 13 All-America awards over the past two seasons.

For the season, Olson had ten games in which he racked up double digit tackles – he finished the season with 179 total tackles.

Along with receiving the Buchanan Award, Olson was voted the Big Sky co-defensive player of the year in 2019 and was named the FCS defensive player of the year by the FCS Athletic Directors Association.

Olson is scheduled to play in the East-West Shrine game on Saturday, Jan. 18 in St. Petersburg, Florida.


The 2018 Buchanan Award finalists included:

  • James Madison – DE Ron’Dell Carter, senior
  • Montana – MLB Donte Olson, senior
  • Nicholls – DE Sully Laiche, senior


2018 Buck Buchanan Award winner: Zach Hall


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s