Tag Archives: Kristov Martinez

2018 Fred Mitchell Award


The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award is provided to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker among more than 750 FCS, Division II, III, NAIA and NJCAA football teams.

The Award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and former Chicago Tribune sports columnist. The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award is chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community.




Alcobendas was named first team selection on the American Football Coaches Association NCAA Football Championship Subdivision All-America team.
Image: fredmitchell.com


Eastern Washington University’s senior place-kicker Roldan Alcobendas (Camas, Wash.) is the recipient of the 2018 Fred Mitchell Award. 

“Roldan Alcobendas checks all the boxes when it comes to fulfilling the criteria for being the 2018 Fred Mitchell Award winner. His perseverance following a pair of devastating knee injuries has been remarkable. And his commitment to community service is what we are all about. We are proud to add him to our family of distinguished winners.” said Fred Mitchell.

Alcobendas remarked, “I was honestly speechless when Mr. Mitchell let me know. I’m very honored to be recognized with this award.”

Alcobendas earned first team All-Big Sky Conference honors as both a kicker and punter for EWU in 2018. His 113 kick-scoring points this season broke the school record of 103 and ranks fifth in Big Sky history, and his 314 career points are also a school record and rank sixth all-time in the league. His second extra point of the season was blocked, but he’s made all 67 since then for a season total of 68-of-69 to break his own single season consecutive makes record of 63 set in 2016. He also owns the career record with 85-straight from 2016-2017.

His 44.9 punting average is second nationally, ranking only behind Chris Faddoul of Florida A&M (46.8).

Off the field, Alcobendas and the Eastern football program participate in numerous community service projects during the year, including youth clinics, Cheney “Clean-Sweep” campus pick-up days, the “Bleed Eagle Red” blood drive, the HUB 360 Program for middle school students, Special Olympics and the “Light the Way Dinner Auction” to help raise funds for the American Childhood Cancer Organization of the Inland Northwest.

The award’s Selection Committee Chairman Rob Perry shared that “We have been blessed with nominees of remarkable character and strength. Roldan’s accomplishments and fortitude have earned him a place of honor among some exceptional young men.”


The 2018 Fred Mitchell Award finalists included:

  • Central Colloge (IA), Div III – John Alberts
  • Eastern Washington, FCS – Roldan Alcobendas
  • Fort Hayes (KS), Div II – Dante Brown
  • Colorado State-Pueblo, D II – Mitchell Carter
  • Northern Iowa, FCS – Austin Errthum
  • Wisconsin-Whitewater, D III – Wojciech Gasienica
  • East Tennessee State, FCS – J.J. Jerman
  • Texas A&M-Commerce, FCS – Kristov Martinez
  • Concordia (MN), D II – Jonas Schenderlein
  • DePauw (IN), D III – Jake Tanner

Div II 2018 A.P. All-American teams


Ferris State University junior quarterback Jayru Campbell was named as the 2018 Harlon Hill Trophy recipient presented to the country’s most outstanding player.
Photo: Kevin McDermott | Ferris State athletics


Quarterback — Jayru Campbell, junior, Ferris State

Running backs — Gabe Watson, junior, Sioux Falls; Jaleel McLaughlin, freshman, Notre Dame (Ohio)

Linemen — Trey Pipkins, senior, Sioux Falls; Jeremy King, senior, Valdosta State; Tyler Drob, senior, West Chester; James Moore, senior, Central Washington; Devon Johnson, senior, Ferris State

Tight end — Erik Henneman, junior, Lindenwood

Wide receivers — Trey Brock, senior, Hillsdale; Brody Oliver, senior, Colorado School of Mines

All-purpose player — Dominque Ramsey, sophomore, Texas A&M-Commerce

Kicker — Kristov Martinez, senior, Texas A&M-Commerce


Linemen — Markus Jones, senior, Angelo State; Chris Garrett, sophomore, Concordia-St. Paul; Sha’huan Williams, junior, Notre Dame (Ohio); Cardell Rawlings, senior, Wingate

Linebackers — Brandon Payer, senior, Colorado State Pueblo; Jose Delgado, senior, Fort Hays State; Tyler Morrisey, senior, West Chester

Backs — Lamont McPhatter II, junior, California (Pa.); Gunner Olszewski, senior, Bemidji State; Marcus Haskins, redshirt freshman; Concordia-St. Paul; Delon Stephenson, junior, Ferris State

Punter — Cody Mills, senior, Delta State


Wells threw for 5 td’s against Ferris State, leading Valdosta to the 2018 Div II Title.
Photo: Valdosta Daily Times


Quarterback — Rogan Wells, sophomore, Valdosta State

Running backs — Wes Hills, senior, Slippery Rock; Cameron Mayberry, junior, Colorado School of Mines

Linemen — Steve Gaviglia, senior, Slippery Rock; LaVonne Gauthney, senior, Valdosta State; Justin Gooseberry, senior, Ouachita Baptist; Evan Heim, junior, Minnesota State; Deon Sheppard, senior, Tarleton State

Tight end — Qua Boyd, senior, West Alabama

Wide receivers — Chad Hovasse, senior, Adams State; Shane Zylstra, junor, Minnesota State

All-purpose player — Lawrence Woods, sophomore, Truman State

Kicker — Jonas Schenderlein, senior, Concordia-St. Paul


Linemen — Diquan Gilbert, senior, West Chester; James Prater Jr., senior, Ashland; Kevin Petit-Frere, senior, LIU-Post; Austen Eskew, senior, Northwest Missouri State

Linebackers — Aaron Berry, senior, Azusa Pacific; J.T. Hassell, senior, Florida Tech; Dominic Cizauskas, junior, Glenville State

Backs — Brian Williams, senior, Davenport; Devin Hafford, junior, Tarleton State; Ravarius Rivers, junior, Valdosta State; Joshua Simmons, senior, Limestone

Punter — Isaac Parks, sophomore, UNC-Pembroke